Menu
Contact Us Search

Wildlife Branch - Wildlife Investigations Lab

Overview

CDFW's Wildlife Investigations Laboratory (WIL) was established in 1941, and is mandated by Fish and Willdife Code Section 1008 to conduct wildlife disease investigations. Over the years, WIL's responsibilities have increased to include the statewide investigation of all wildlife mortality events, studies and surveillance of diseases (enzootic and epizootic), wildlife health and condition monitoring, prevention of zoonotic diseases, wildlife rehabilitation, injured and nuisance wildlife, safety training, and investigations of public safety wildlife such as mountain lions, black bears, coyotes, large exotic carnivores, and deer.


Wildlife Investigations Lab Contacts

NAME Classification Email Address
Buchalski, Mike Research Scientist III,
Genetics
Mike.Buchalski@wildlife.ca.gov
Carion, Nicole Senior Environmental Scientist,
Wildlife Rehabilitation / Exotic Species Permits
Nicole.Carion@wildlife.ca.gov
Clifford, Deana Senior Veterinarian Specialist,
Non-Game and Public Safety
Deana.Clifford@wildlife.ca.gov
Dellinger, Justin Senior Environmental Scientist,
Mt. Lion and Wolf
Justin.Dellinger@wildlife.ca.gov
Furnas, Brett Senior Environmental Scientist,
Biostatistics
Brett.Furnas@wildlife.ca.gov
Gille, Daphne Research Scientist I,
Genetics
Daphne.Gille@wildlife.ca.gov
Glas, Zoe Environmental Scientist,
R3 Program
Zoe.Glas@wildlife.ca.gov
Konde, Lora Senior Environmental Scientist,
Large Mammal & Capture coordination
Lora.Konde@wildlife.ca.gov
McMillin, Stella Senior Environmental Scientist,
Pesticide Investigations
Stella.McMillin@wildlife.ca.gov
Monroe, Vicky Senior Environmental Scientist Supervisor
Wildlife Conflict
Vicky.Monroe@wildlife.ca.gov
Moran, Tina Staff Services Analyst
Administration
Tina.Moran@wildlife.ca.gov
Munk, Brandon Veterinarian,
Large Mammal
Brandon.Munk@wildlife.ca.gov
Rogers, Krysta Senior Environmental Scientist,
Avian
Krysta.Rogers@wildlife.ca.gov
Rudd, Jaime Environmental Scientist,
Mt. Lion Health
Jaime.Rudd@wildlife.ca.gov
Shirkey, Nicholas Environmental Scientist,
Large Mammal and Avian
Nicholas.Shirkey@wildlife.ca.gov
Sommer, Mary Retired Annuitant,
Immobilization Drug Coordination
Mary.Sommer@wildlife.ca.gov

Wildlife Branch - Wildlife Investigations Lab
1701 Nimbus Road, Suite D
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670
(916) 358-2790
WILAB@wildlife.ca.gov


Mission

The mission of the Wildlife Investigations Lab is to investigate, monitor and manage population health issues in California's wildlife.