Menu
Contact Us Search

Wildlife Branch - Wildlife Investigations Lab

Overview

CDFW's Wildlife Investigations Laboratory (WIL) was established in 1941, and is mandated by Fish and Willdife Code Section 1008 to conduct wildlife disease investigations. Over the years, WIL's responsibilities have increased to include the statewide investigation of all wildlife mortality events, studies and surveillance of diseases (enzootic and epizootic), wildlife health and condition monitoring, prevention of zoonotic diseases, wildlife rehabilitation, injured and nuisance wildlife, safety training, and investigations of public safety wildlife such as mountain lions, black bears, coyotes, large exotic carnivores, and deer.


Wildlife Investigations Lab Contacts

Name Classification Email Address
Steve Torres WIL Supervisor - Environmental Program Manager Steve.Torres@wildlife.ca.gov
Nicole Carion Senior Environmental Scientist,
Wildlife Rehabilitation / Exotic Species Permits
Nicole.Carion@wildlife.ca.gov
Dr. Deana Clifford Senior Wildlife Veterinarian Deana.Clifford@wildlife.ca.gov
Justin Dellinger Senior Environmental Scientist Justin.Dellinger@wildlife.ca.gov
Carrie Del Signore Environmental Scientist Carrie.Delsignore@wildlife.ca.gov
Dr. Ben J. Gonzales Senior Wildlife Veterinarian Ben.Gonzales@wildlife.ca.gov
Karen Jones Retired Annuitant Karen.Jones@wildlife.ca.gov
Marc Kenyon Senior Environmental Scientist Marc.Kenyon@wildlife.ca.gov
Lora Konde Environmental Scientist Lora.Konde@wildlife.ca.gov
Stella McMillin Senior Environmental Scientist, Toxicology Stella.McMillin@wildlife.ca.gov
Tina Moran Staff Services Analyst Tina.Moran@wildlife.ca.gov
Dr. Brandon Munk Associate Wildlife Veterinarian Brandon.Munk@wildlife.ca.gov
Krysta Rogers Senior Environmental Scientist, Avian Krysta.Rogers@wildlife.ca.gov
Austin Roy Environmental Scientist Austin.Roy@wildlife.ca.gov
Jamie Rudd Environmental Scientist Jamie.Rudd@wildlife.ca.gov

Wildlife Branch - Wildlife Investigations Lab
1701 Nimbus Road, Suite D
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670
(916) 358-2790
WILAB@wildlife.ca.gov


Mission

The mission of the Wildlife Investigations Lab is to investigate, monitor and manage population health issues in California's wildlife.