Menu
Contact Us Search

Wildlife Branch - Lands Program

Overview

The Lands Program is responsible for assisting Regional staff in the management of over 1,000,000 acres of fish and wildlife habitat. In total CDFW manages 711 properties throughout the state. These properties provide habitat for a rich diversity of fish, wildlife, and plant species and comprise habitats from every major ecosystem in the state. In addition, the Lands Program also administers several private lands conservation programs designed to assist landowners with the management of wetlands, riparian habitats, native grasslands and wildlife-friendly farmlands.


Lands Program Contacts

Name Classification Phone Number E-mail Address
Kari Lewis Program Manager (916) 445-3789 Kari.Lewis@wildlife.ca.gov
Ecological Reserve and Wildlife Area Web Pages
Sharon Taylor Environmental Scientist (916) 323-7194 Sharon.Taylor@wildlife.ca.gov
Land Management and Resource Assessment
Teresa Le Blanc Senior Environmental Scientist (916) 445-3499 Teresa.LeBlanc@wildlife.ca.gov
Sharon Taylor Environmental Scientist
Lands Inventory
(916) 323-7194 Sharon.Taylor@wildlife.ca.gov
Levi Souza
Environmental Scientist
Land Management Planning
(916) 445-3709 Levi.Souza@wildlife.ca.gov
Wildlife Areas and Wildlife Restoration Program
Brad Burkholder Senior Environmental Scientist (916) 445-1829 Brad.Burkholder@wildlife.ca.gov
Ecological Reserves and Land Acquisition
Julie Horenstein Senior Environmental Scientist (916) 324-3772 Julie.Horenstein@wildlife.ca.gov
Comprehensive Wetland Habitat Program
Brian Olson
Senior Environmental Scientist (916) 445-3486
Brian.Olson@wildlife.ca.gov
Helen Swagerty
Environmental Scientist (916) 445-3561
Helen.Swagerty@wildlife.ca.gov
Integrated Pest Management
Joel Trumbo Senior Environmental Scientist (916) 445-8544 Joel.Trumbo@wildlife.ca.gov
Mariah Thomas
Scientifc Aide (916) 445-3766 Mariah.Thomas@wildlife.ca.gov
Geographic Information Systems
Lisa Ohara Research Analyst II, GIS
GIS Data and Maps
(916) 445-3542 Lisa.Ohara@wildlife.ca.gov

Wildlife Branch - Lands Program
1812 9th Street
Sacramento, CA 95811
(916) 445-0411


Mission

To work in partnership with the CDFW's Regions to ensure that the state's lands are managed and maintained to provide optimal benefits for fish, wildlife, and plants by:

  • Developing uniform, statewide policies and planning guidance relative to the acquisition, protection, restoration, enhancement, and management of lands;
  • Providing statewide policy and programmatic coordination with conservation groups and local, state, and federal resource agencies to conserve privately owned lands;
  • Developing uniform guidelines and regulations for public use and land management plans that focus on the needs of fish, wildlife, and plants.
  • Providing budgetary and technical assistance to Regional land managers; and
  • Fostering public use, knowledge, and enjoyment of lands.